Melbourne Cup – Race That Stops The Nation

melbourne cup

What is Melbourne Cup?

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most prestigious annual Thoroughbred horse race. Each year internationally bred or owned horses compete in the race. It is a 3,200 metre race conducted on the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It is the one of the richest turf races in the world.

The race also celebrates Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Due to its extreme popularity, the event is known as “the race that stops a nation“.

Even though event happens in Melbourne, whole nation takes part in it by displaying the race on big screen in public locations around the country.

How to Get Latest Info on Horses in the Race?

Many people across the country bet on their favourite horses. However, it is vital to get some information on horses taking part in the race, their history, any recent races they won and so on. You can find information about the horses taking part in the race on the sites like racenet , foxSports , justhorseracing .These sites provide you updated information on above mentioned factors.

When Does it Happen?

The Melbourne Cup event starts at 3pm on the first Tuesday in November every year.


melbourne cup

Poseidon, 1906 winner

The first Melbourne Cup race was held in 1861. It was originally over two miles (3.219 km) but was shortened to 3,200 metres (1.988 mi) in 1972.

Since 1882 New Zealand bred horses have won 40 Melbourne Cups, British bred horses five, American bred horses four, Irish bred horses three, German bred horses two and French and Japanese bred horses one.

You can see the list of all Melbourne Cup Winners HERE.