Anzac Day 2024: Comprehensive Guide to Trading Hours Across Australia

Anzac Day, celebrated on April 25th each year, is a significant national day of remembrance in Australia, commemorating all Australians and New Zealanders who served and died in all wars, conflicts, and peacekeeping operations.

In 2024, Anzac Day falls on a Thursday, and it is recognized as a public holiday throughout all states and territories in Australia.

This guide provides a detailed look at the trading hours for each region, reflecting the respect and remembrance associated with the day.

State-by-State Trading Hours on Anzac Day 2024

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

In the ACT, there are no restrictions on trading hours on Anzac Day, reflecting a more deregulated approach to retail operations during public holidays. Businesses are free to operate at their discretion throughout the day.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • ACT Trading Hours: All stores are open from 1 pm.

New South Wales (NSW)

New South Wales observes Anzac Day with specific restrictions under the Retail Trading Act. While most businesses are restricted from opening before 1:00 PM, there are notable exceptions for small shops, which are defined as operations with fewer than four employees on the day and no more than two owners sharing profits.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • NSW Trading Hours: Trading permitted post-1:00 PM (exceptions for small shops)

Northern Territory (NT)

Similar to the ACT, the Northern Territory offers flexibility for businesses on Anzac Day, with no restrictions imposed on trading hours. This allows all types of businesses to operate normally throughout the public holiday.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • NT Trading Hours: No restrictions

Queensland (QLD)

Queensland differentiates between exempt and non-exempt shops in terms of Anzac Day trading. Exempt shops, which include various specialty stores, can trade throughout the day, while independent shops are restricted to starting business after 1:00 PM.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • QLD Trading Hours: Exempt shops unrestricted; Independent shops from 1:00 PM

South Australia (SA)

In South Australia, trading hours on Anzac Day are confined from 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM for non-exempt stores in the CBD and certain other areas. There are stringent regulations, especially in tourist areas and metropolitan shopping districts, where most businesses must remain closed.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • SA Trading Hours: 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM in restricted areas


Tasmania imposes a general trading restriction until 12:30 PM on Anzac Day. After this time, businesses such as pharmacies, cafes, and restaurants may open. Specific allowances are made for smaller shops within large shopping complexes.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • TAS Trading Hours: All stores will open after 12:30 pm with reduced hours


Victoria maintains a reflective observance of Anzac Day, with most retail businesses required to stay closed until 1:00 PM. Essential services, including chemists and petrol stations, along with smaller retail establishments, are exempt from these restrictions.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • VIC Trading Hours: Trading permitted after 1:00 PM

Western Australia (WA)

Western Australia prescribes specific trading restrictions for Anzac Day, with only essential services like pharmacies and newsagents permitted to operate. Restaurants and cafes may also remain open, providing community gathering spots on this solemn day.

  • Public Holiday: Thursday, April 25, 2024
  • WA Trading Hours: Limited to essential services and exempt businesses

Advocacy for Deregulation

The Australian Retailers Association (ARA) advocates for the complete deregulation of trading hours to provide retailers with the flexibility necessary to meet local demands and remain competitive. This approach is especially relevant in the post-pandemic context, where consumer habits have shifted significantly towards online shopping, available 24/7.

Regulatory Landscape Across States

The regulation of trading hours varies considerably across jurisdictions:

  • ACT and NT: Deregulated, with attention only needed on public holidays.
  • NSW, VIC: Certain public holidays have specific restrictions with many exemptions.
  • QLD, SA, TAS, WA: More regulated, with varying restrictions based on location and type of retailer.

We hope this detailed breakdown ensures that both consumers and businesses are well-informed about the trading hours applicable on Anzac Day 2024, allowing for proper planning and observance of this important day.